Author Topic: Loud salute.  (Read 1687 times)

Offline Hammer

• Trade Count: (0)
Loud salute.
« on: June 15, 2004, 05:02:08 PM »
Hello. I am new at this and need help. I am looking for a cannon or mortar to salute fire. Can someone tell me what and were I can get the loudest salute cannon or mortar? Which one, what kind etc.. It does not have to fire a ball or anything just blank paper wads or something that. Something that when I fire it will not knock a wall down if it hits it. I am looking for something loud. Thank you for any information. :D

Offline Cat Whisperer

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Pulaski Coehorn Works
Loud salute.
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2004, 05:09:12 PM »
How do  you define loud?  In deciBells.

My definition:  When your eardrums meet in the middle, you KNOW it's loud.

Now to seriously answer your question.

One of the most convenient 'cannon' you could own is the Winchester (or replica thereof) 10 ga. blank cannon.

Uses blackpowder blanks.

Genuinely loud, however, would be a surplus cannon/bomb simulator that uses propane.  A friend of mine used one QUITE successfully in a parade where the amount of noise asked for was very loud.  His wife convinced him to NEVER do it again, simply by handing him a mirror.  When he saw the blood dripping from ears, eyes, nose etc. it was a moot point.
Tim K                 www.GBOCANNONS.COM
Cat Whisperer
Chief of Smoke, Pulaski Coehorn Works & Winery
U.S.Army Retired
N 37.05224  W 80.78133 (front door +/- 15 feet)

Offline Hammer

Loud salute.
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2004, 05:49:01 PM »