Author Topic: My first cast bullets  (Read 902 times)

Offline jack19512

• Trade Count: (1)
  • A Real Regular
My first cast bullets
« on: December 29, 2006, 07:33:59 AM »
Here is a pic of my first ever cast bullets.  I used a Lee pot and Lee single cavity mold.  Some of them aren't real pretty to look at but I am sure they will get better.  I never had any problems and I am amazed, thought I would do poorly since this is my first time.

I tried to take note on how things were going as far as my mold temp and pot temp were concerned.  If anyone has any suggestions as far as improving my bullets they would be welcomed.   :)

Offline Dusty Miller

• Trade Count: (0)
Re: My first cast bullets
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2006, 08:24:31 AM »
The proof of the pudding is in the tasting, or in this case, the shooting.  Put'm in some cases and get to the range and see where the land. 
When seconds mean life or death, the police are only minutes away!

Offline mrbill2

• Mr. Bills Web Site
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2006, 02:12:04 PM »
Looks like your off to a good start.  Keep her going ! Your going to love this cast bullet stuff.
Supporter and Life Member of the NRA

Offline ron haralson

« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2006, 03:08:36 PM »
The first time is usually the hardest with a new mold. The little bit of oil in the cavity causes imperfections on your bullets. It'll get better the next time or so as the mold breaks in.

Offline jgalar

« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2006, 05:27:42 PM »
The Lone Ranger would be impressed with those shiny silver colored bullets!

Casting is actually very easy and I find it relaxing. To read some posts, you would think it is terribly difficult.
Its like reloading in general - its not difficult no matter what you read in forums.

I've stated many times - "Its not rocket science unless you want it to be"

Good job on those bullets!

Offline jack19512

• A Real Regular
« Reply #5 on: December 30, 2006, 03:21:50 PM »