Author Topic: sightron or bushnell sportsman rimfire?  (Read 1745 times)

Offline bluebayou

• Trade Count: (0)
sightron or bushnell sportsman rimfire?
« on: May 08, 2007, 05:36:55 AM »
I have some birthday money.  I am looking at the Sightron 3-9x32 rimfire or the Bushnell Sportsman 3-9x32 with AO.  Does anyone have any experience with either one?  I would prefer having AO for target shooting, but I have no experience with rimfire shooting.  This would be on a cheap 22 being used for the occassional varmint and squirrel.

Offline TheOpticZone

• A Real Regular
    • http://www.theopticzone.com
Re: sightron or bushnell sportsman rimfire?
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2007, 06:17:05 AM »
I like the Sightron better than the Bushnell Sportsman.  In my opinion, just a better quality scope.
Jon Jackoviak
The Optic Zone
www.theopticzone.com

The Place for all your Optic Needs!

Offline Zachary

« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2007, 07:30:23 AM »
Out of the two, get the Sightron.

However, you should take a serious look at the Clearidge RM 3x-9x-32.  Although I haven't personally seen this scope, it appears to have very high quality optics and ideal features for a rimfire, including an AO.  Although this scope can be used for big game, given that it has an AO, you can easily use it for a rimfire. 

On my CZ 452 American in .22LR, I ordered a similar scope from Weaver from Jon at the opticzone.  It's a great scope.  However, next rimfire rifle I get, I am going to definately get the clearidge RM scope.  I was going to buy it for my .22, but back then, it wasn't yet available.

Zachary

Offline bluebayou

« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2007, 11:22:28 AM »
Thanks for the input.  I didn't think about the Weaver.  I have a 5-15 Bushnell Legend that I like but it is too big and would sit too high for close range shooting (in my thinking anyway).  The Weaver's size looks good.