Author Topic: What is the correct way to make a mock scrape?  (Read 701 times)

Offline gt2003

• Trade Count: (0)
What is the correct way to make a mock scrape?
« on: September 19, 2007, 02:29:18 PM »
I've wanted to try this for a few years but don't really know the proper procedure.  Could someone outline it for me or post a link showing how?  Thanks, Greg

Offline Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
Re: What is the correct way to make a mock scrape?
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2007, 05:40:51 PM »
The best way is to hire a whitetail buck to do it for you.  :o ;D ???

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!

Offline theoldarcher

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2007, 03:26:31 AM »
I use a strong stick to scrape away debris from under a licking branch--be sure to watch that you don't contaminate your area with your scent: scent-free rubber boots, rubber gloves, and just watch touching anything around you.  Scrape to the earth and make the scrape in one direction.  When it looks to be about two feet or so across, I then dig a hole a couple of inches deep in the center, place a little wax paper and on the paper daub James Valley Wall Hanger gel.  I cover  with some earth, drop more on the scrape, then daub more on the overhead branch.  I usually make three or four in a line along trails. 

I've heard folks belittle making mock scrapes, and maybe it has only been a fluke, but within a short time, I've had them taken over by bucks.  Over the years, I have killed three decent bucks over mock scrapes...but, again, that may have been a fluke.

Best of luck, Arch

Offline K.K

• A Real Regular
« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2007, 03:41:13 AM »
What time of year do you start making them? Obviously pre-rut, but we start bow hunting next week (late Sep.) is this too early?