Author Topic: Very Low Velocity 38 Special Loads  (Read 1619 times)

Offline tn_junk

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (54)
  • A Real Regular
  • Look to Him
Very Low Velocity 38 Special Loads
« on: November 20, 2007, 04:57:18 AM »
I am looking for a very light plinking load for my 38 using HP38 powder and 125 grain cast bullets (wheel weights). The lowest (starting) load shown by Hodgdon is 3.8 grains.
How low can I go? Would it be safe to try a 1.5 grain load of HP38? What about using a .356 dia rather than .358 dia bullet. Could I then decrease the load more due to decreased pressure required to drive the bullet through the rifling?
I am new at this, and am not sure about reducing loads.

Thanks

alan
Common Sense Ain't Very Common

Deceased May 20, 2009.  RIP Alan we miss you.

Offline coyotejoe

• Trade Count: (4)
Re: Very Low Velocity 38 Special Loads
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2007, 05:36:49 AM »