Author Topic: New H&R Ultra Slug Hunter w/ cleaning and shooting question  (Read 848 times)

Offline kipsbay

• Trade Count: (0)
New H&R Ultra Slug Hunter w/ cleaning and shooting question
« on: November 21, 2007, 12:51:24 AM »
Hi all.....it's been a while since I've owned a slug gun.....had a few thru the years....Ithica 37, Rem. 1100 w/ a Hastings etc.
I've been using a muzzle loader now for the past 12 years or so....knight disc and now a TC ProHunter.

My question is.....I've just bought a new H&R Ultra Slug Hunter in 12ga.....what is the best procedure with shooting this gun and cleaning....??
Should I clean in between shots....clean after a session at the range.....should I use a similar pattern as I do w/ my muzzle loader and run a brush thru the barrel and a patch between shots to keep the barrel in a consistent somewhat clean status.

I'm really interested in what each of you do to maintain consistency and the best possible accuracy.....??

Thanks in advance......JOHN

Offline chad1043

• Trade Count: (3)
Re: New H&R Ultra Slug Hunter w/ cleaning and shooting question
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2007, 01:07:25 AM »
Don't worry... Quick will be here soon.. I don't have a Slug Barrel YET, but I'm sure someone will be glad to help... BTW, welcome to a great forum...

Chad

Offline burntmuch

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (114)
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2007, 01:14:02 AM »
 my 20 guage USH took 20 rounds before it wood group, so I wont be cleaning the bore too much. I will take it apart & wipe it down real good before I put it away. :next week:
I dont care what gun Im using as long as Im hunting

Offline mgeorge

« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2007, 02:39:02 AM »
The rounds I use (Rem 3" Copper Solids) shoot quite clean, so I don't normally clean the barrel during the season.  I test fired some 2-3/4" Rem Core-Lokt, and they were very dirty so I ran a dry patch through the barrel to get the remains out.