Author Topic: career advice  (Read 370 times)

Offline mjbgalt

• Trade Count: (26)
career advice
« on: December 06, 2007, 09:58:18 AM »
I am 27 and just started a job in august. I am a retail manager in a mall. I run the whole store, doing everything a general manager does...the HR, the ordering, inventory, customer service, payroll, paperwork, etc.

My boss is a 110-pound Napoleon. He is rude to everyone, constantly trying to catch someone doing something wrong, often accusing them and finding that nothing had occurred. He is also gay, which causes a bit of a twist on the story, and since his behavior is so irritating and causes so much turnover, he is hated by a lot of us. Some, however, like him. I cannot imagine why.

I could care less about his sexual preference, other than it annoys me when he spends WAY too much time with "cute" male employees and neglects the hairier and fatter ones lol... guess which group I belong to! lol

i took this job in order to learn retail and get out of the restaurant business where i had succeeded but grew tired of the 15 hour days and no time off and smelling like food. I wanted to find something fun that I could make a career of without spending so much time away from my wife and home and family.

the problem is, when i finally admitted that this is a no-win situation for me, i went on an interview today. One question of course was, "why are you looking to leave your job after only 4 months?" I answered truthfully that there is no option for me to be promoted for many years and that i wanted to keep options open. when pressed further, i explained that the district manager i worked for has a lot of turnover and firings and his idea of motivation is yelling and firing, not setting goals and teaching, as needed. i think that answer is probably not a good one to be telling prospective employers but i thought i would pose the question to you guys and see what you have done in maybe the same situation, that worked?