Author Topic: Handgun blow up - What happens when you don't pay attention.  (Read 1505 times)

Offline Bigeasy

• Trade Count: (5)
The attached photo's show the results of a high pressure incident with a S&W 59 auto pistol.  I am a firearms instructor with a large agency.  Besides front line weapons, we keep quite a collection of other armorment.  We are required to test fire all weapons once a year.  I was spending a couple days doing so, when I opened a case of S&W 59, 9mm pistols.  Take a gun out, fire a clip, return to case, repeat with the next gun, and so on.  Well, our Special Operations Team at the time trained with "Simunition" barrels on the 59's.  These guns were stocked with red plastic stocks to identify them, plus the Simunition barrel can not chamber a real round, with the barrel diameter about 32 cal.

The case of weapons I was test firing were regular duty weapons.  Imagine my suprise when I fired one and it felt like a firecracker going off in my hand.  The magazine flew from the gun, the slide was jammed open, and the frame was cracked in the grip area, as well as on one of the slide rails.  Someone had installed a Simunition barrel on a duty weapon, and it chambered and fired a live round.