Author Topic: What game have you guy's taken with your rifles ?  (Read 926 times)

Offline superdown

• Trade Count: (14)
  • A Real Regular
What game have you guy's taken with your rifles ?
« on: February 22, 2008, 04:10:23 PM »
well just that , what have you guy's hunted or variminted with your Rifles ? Some pics would be cool, Superdown

Offline superdown

• A Real Regular
Re: What game have you guy's taken with your rifles ?
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2008, 02:37:50 PM »
so no one Hunt's with their AR's ,AK's or FAL ect. ?

Offline jasonprox700

• Trade Count: (3)
  • Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2008, 04:39:44 PM »
Some crows, a few coyotes, and one deer (head shot).

BTW, I have a Bushmaster Varminter .223.

Some day, I want an AR in a .243 WSSM!!!

Offline targshooter

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Contributor
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2008, 01:38:59 AM »
The .223 is a good varmint round out to about 200-250 yards; beyond which it has lost enough velocity to become ineffective, in my experience. I have shot many woodchucks with this cartridge in various rifles, including the AR15. Interestingly, when using a military type rifle I used military ammo. The farthest shot I took with military style rifles was about 175 yards, but most were within 50. The high velocity and light bullet (I used mostly 55 grain bullets) weight insured the military FMJ bullet was upset by the small rodent bodies with resultant bullet ricochet around in the body or fragmentation. With bolt action rifles and shots taken at long distance I used Hornady 55 grain SX bullets. With the lower velocity beyond 250 yards I lost a few as the bullet zipped through their small chest and they ran to the hole. Those I recovered did not have the same damage as found in the animals shot at closer range.

Offline jmayton

• A Real Regular
« Reply #4 on: February 26, 2008, 08:41:14 PM »