Author Topic: Scope zero on a NEF Rifle  (Read 422 times)

Offline Herman Lesley

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
Scope zero on a NEF Rifle
« on: February 23, 2008, 07:38:02 AM »
I am new to the NEF Rifle. I read in other posts that for consistency the front bag should be placed with the trigger guard pushed into it.

If the scope is sighted in this way, will there be any difference in point of aim if the rifle is shot offhand or with the hand holding the forearm resting on a shooting house window?

I just bought a 45-70 and mounted a Browning 2x7x32 scope on it. I have handloaded my ammo for several years and I am going to load for my 45-70.
Does anyone have any loads for the Barnes 250 gr TSX bullet? I know all guns are different, but I would like to get ideas from other 45-70 shooters.

I also read that the 45-70 NEF Rifle can be loaded with the Marlin 1895 45-70 loads, so that will give me a place to start.

Thanks

Herman

Offline quickdtoo

• Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (149)
Re: Scope zero on a NEF Rifle
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2008, 08:10:10 AM »
Welcome aboard Herman!! ;) The best way to know if your rifle will shoot different when rested on the forend, is to shoot it that way and see if there's a difference, then you'll know. Usually a fully bedded forend will be best, but each rifle is different and what works for one, won't work the same for another.

I have the 250gr and 300gr TSX .458" bullets, but haven't shot them yet, Mac shot them in a CVA Optima Elite which shot them very well, other than that, I have no other suggestion other than send Ty Herring an email at Barnes asking for any Trapdoor, 1895 Marlin and Ruger No 1 load data he may have. You can also use the 250gr XFN data in the #3 manual and the TSX loading guidelines on the Barnes site.

Tim

http://www.barnesbullets.com/information/load-data/

http://www.barnesbullets.com/information/load-data/tsx-guidelines/