Author Topic: Newbie here  (Read 317 times)

Offline oldrookie

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
Newbie here
« on: February 27, 2008, 03:53:52 AM »
Hey folks! Newbie here and to the world of shotguns believe it or not. Looking at buying a NEF 12g for turkey. In looking at the turkey model the barrel comes with full choke. Will this be decent out to 35-40 yards with proper load? Didn't know if it is an absolute must to have XXchoke for turkey. If so, why do they put a full choke barrel on a turkey model? Thanks for any information in advance.

Offline Doublebass73

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (46)
Re: Newbie here
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2008, 05:46:56 PM »
Welcome,

A 16 gauge with a full choke will do fine out to that distance. Just pattern some different loads and see what works the best. Chokes are mostly marketing hype. Many turkeys are killed each year with mod choked shotguns. You don't need XX turkey chokes to kill a turkey.

16 gauge has the old school coolness factor to it.
"Necessity is the plea for every infringement of human freedom. It is the argument of tyrants; it is the creed of slaves."

---- William Pitt (the Younger), Speech in the House of Commons, November 18, 1783

Offline plumberroy

• Trade Count: (4)
  • Contributor
Re: Newbie here
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2008, 07:20:04 PM »