Author Topic: Unsafe Loading Data?  (Read 584 times)

Offline muskeg13

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
Unsafe Loading Data?
« on: May 04, 2008, 11:49:41 PM »
Sorry if you see this a a repeat from the basic shotgun reloading site.

While I've loaded metallic cartridges for over 30 years, I'm new to shotgun reloading and need advice.  I recently decided to begin casting and loading slugs, specifically the Lyman 525 gr (1 1/4 oz) sabot "pellet."  When I bought initial supplies locally, the Lyman #5 Shotgun Manual wasn't available, so I got a 12 gauge  "Load Book" which claims to include data from all powder manufacturers and some loading manuals, including data for the Lyman slug.  "Load Book" offers caliber specific load data for a number of popular cartridges. 

I loaded 30 rounds using Federal, WW and Remington cases with Hodgdon Universal Clays.  I immediately had problems crimping the loads.  They seemed too long, so I switched to a shorter wad.  Fortunately, the weather was bad, so I didn't shoot.  I the mean time, I'd ordered a real Lyman manual, and it came in.  When I compared the "real" Lyman data to so called Lyman data listed in "Load Book", there was a 7 grain difference in max loads for Universal Clays loaded in Federal Gold Medal hulls.  There was also a 5 grain difference in SR 4756 data.  All three of the "Load Book" loads I'd prepared significantly exceeded the maximum loads  in the Lyman #5 manual.  Furthermore, the Load Book data lists 10,100 psi with 36 gr of Univ Clays, while Lyman #5 says you'll get 10,400 psi with only 29 grains of the same powder!