Author Topic: E85 Ethanol  (Read 754 times)

Offline Cheesehead

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (6)
E85 Ethanol
« on: March 31, 2008, 12:01:18 PM »
What is good or bad about E85 ethanol? I hear alot of bad, is there any good points?

Cheese
Nothing in the world is more dangerous than sincere ignorance.

Offline kevthebassman

• Trade Count: (0)
  • A Real Regular
Re: E85 Ethanol
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2008, 12:48:55 PM »
I hear tell that it's no kind of real solution to our energy problem, not efficient enough to produce or use for it to replace gasoline.  'Course I'm no expert in thermodynamics.

Offline Mikey

• GBO Supporter
  • Moderators
  • Trade Count: (2)
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2008, 01:53:39 PM »
Cheese - I think the E85 is 85% ethanol and that stuff can only be burned in multi-fuel engines designed to effectively burn it.  The E100 that will be coming out will be safe to use in all cars, and motorcycles too, I'm sure. 

As to whether it is an cost effective alternative to fossil fuels - maybe not the most cost effective but I think it is a good start to help us wean away from foreign oil.  There are more cost effective bio-fuel products than corn; beets are one and so is sugar cane.  Any food product high in natural sugar (fructose, I believe) is good for fuel.  I guess that means that anything you can make 'shine' from is good to burn. 

One of my neighbors makes his own shine and the last time he went somewhere for,ummm, either parts or somethin', he learned that commercial corn and produce growers can make their own bio-fuels and that they are advised to add a coloring agent to any fuels they use or mix with leaded fuels to prevent, ummmm, accidental ingestion...