Author Topic: two questions  (Read 664 times)

Offline daddyof4

• Trade Count: (0)
two questions
« on: April 07, 2008, 07:40:33 AM »
I am a newbie to casting. I am using the 250 k from rcbs for 44 cal. I have been using WW with linotype mixed in. I am getting 250-259 what weight do you start to scrap at? Will lee alox hold up under this bullet with 9 grains of unique?

Offline Lloyd Smale

• Moderators
  • Trade Count: (32)
Re: two questions
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2008, 02:44:35 PM »
allox should work at those velocity 2 grains up or down should hurt anything and if your only shooting at under 50 yards any  of them will do fine. But you really need to practice your casting technique and get a little more consistancy. As cast using an alloy with tin in it your bullets should  be varying more the 2 grains up or down to start with.
blue lives matter

Offline daddyof4

« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2008, 05:08:31 PM »
Lloyd,
 Thanks for the reply. I need to buy some tin or some alloy I believe Midway has it. I have started using ,ore linotype and now my weights are 250-255 so I am getting there. I rolled the bullets in the alox and have also tried to put some in a shallow pan and set them up to the groove. Any tips would be well  received but of course scrutinized. Thanks again for help

Offline Lloyd Smale

• Moderators
  • Trade Count: (32)
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2008, 12:41:35 AM »