Author Topic: Leupold rifle scopes  (Read 966 times)

Offline Luckyducker

• Trade Count: (5)
  • A Real Regular
Leupold rifle scopes
« on: March 15, 2008, 11:23:14 AM »
I have heard of some gunshops that have dropped the Leupolds from their inventory because of too many problems with them.  They said the lifetime warranty works as advertised but is more of a hassle than just selling some other brand.  One shop has started handling mainly Nikon and another is a dealer for Sightron.   Anybody have any intelligent input on this subject?   I have had three leupold scopes and just recently had to send one in for warranty work, it would no longer hold zero after less than six years.  I recieved an e-mail from company it is on it's return voyage and hope when I get it back it is fixed.  This scope has been mounted on several different rifles, none of which were monsters.  On the other hand, I have a Nikon Buckmaster mounted on a 338RUM that has never shaken loose that has been there for about 8 years and was on a 7STW for a short time before that. 

Offline AtlLaw

• Moderators
  • Trade Count: (58)
  • A good woman, nice bike and fine guns!
Re: Leupold rifle scopes
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2008, 02:53:39 PM »
I haven't heard anything like that.  I have 10 or 20 Leupold scopes; no complaints from me.  I did buy an old 2x7 Compact that I wanted to put on my dedicated back-up rifle (a M-7 in 7/08).  It had a separation (?) in the objective lens, looked like a bubble when you looked at it.  Got it dirt cheap just to try Leupold's guarantee.  I called them, tried to explain the scope was decades old, they would have to rebuild the whole thing and so on andonandon.  The guy just kept saying "send it back."  I did, they rebuilt the thing and sent it back to me in half the time they estimated in the written receipt of scope notice they sent me.  I almost felt like I got a new scope!  You won't hear anything bad about Leupold from me!  But then, nothing lasts forever... :P