Author Topic: Scope rings on a Ultra Slug Hunter  (Read 1520 times)

Offline 55esox

• Trade Count: (0)
Scope rings on a Ultra Slug Hunter
« on: May 14, 2008, 10:39:26 AM »
I have recently purchased an 12 gauge Ultra Slug Hunter and am going to put a Nikon ProStaff 2-7 x 32 on it. The question I have is in regards to what rings I need. I am looking at the Weaver grand Slam series and don't know which height to get. From what I have gathered, the mediums would work, however I think there might be an issue with the hammer interfering with the back of the scope.

Does anyone have any input on this? I am completely new to all this (first slug gun) and am trying to figure this all out. Also, would the Weaver Grand Slam rings be ok, or should I look at different options?

Thanks for your time.

Offline quickdtoo

• Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (149)
Re: Scope rings on a Ultra Slug Hunter
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2008, 10:57:31 AM »
I have a set of the Weaver Grand Slams, if you like Chinese cast iron tools, you'll love them, personally I'm not impressred with them, they're made in China and look like it, they took a lot of lapping to get them true enough to mount the scope in them, mounting a scope in them unlapped would be scopeicide!!  :o

A much better choice would be Leupold PRWs, I have the same scope on my 500S&W Ultra mounted in them, they're rock solid and have stood up to some heavy recoil, 700gr @ 1430fps and 440gr @ 1900fps. See the scope mounting and low profile hammer mod links in the FAQs.

And Welcome to GBO! ;)

Tim
"Always do right, this will gratify some and astonish the rest" -  Mark Twain

Offline 55esox

« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2008, 11:13:50 AM »
Thanks much. Like I said i am completely new to this and appreciate all the help to keep me from tripping all over myself.

Offline EVOC ONE

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (3)
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2008, 11:41:55 AM »