Author Topic: hand lubing cast bullets  (Read 3204 times)

Offline diddy

• Trade Count: (0)
hand lubing cast bullets
« on: December 07, 2002, 06:29:52 AM »
I am wanting to use 50 cal. 250 grain R.E.A.L cast bullet using a 2 cavity Lee bullet mold. and would like to know if anyone can tell me how to hand lube these bullets. I wrote the Lee Mold company and they said Not to resize the bullets because they are a selfcleaning bullet. I ordered some Alox that coats the bullets but it dont soften the fouling. I am new to hand lubing, Could anyone Please help me out. I am thinking about using Black Powder Gold lube.

Offline KING

• A Real Regular
hand lubing cast bullets
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2002, 09:26:21 AM »
:D DIDDY...When i get some mzl bullets that are not lubed,i just kinda pack it inna grooves...I have not used that GOLD LUBE u are talking about,so i dont know how hard it is,but it should smear in ok if its for bp..i think the trick is to get enough in there for it to do its purpose....Hope that helps a little...king......
THE ONLY FEMALE THAT I TRUST IS A LABRADOR.......AND SHE DONT SNOORE,AND DONT COMPLAIN ABOUT MY COOKING...THE ONLY GODS THAT EXIST ARE THOSE THAT HAVE ONE IN THE CHAMBER,AND 19 IN THE MAG.......

Offline yella hammer

homestyle bullet lube
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2002, 07:07:16 PM »
In my dabblings with large cast lubing, well all my cast lubing, I pack the grooves with lube and then push the bullets through a piece of pipe that is close in diameter to the bullet. This shaves off the excess lube.  For example I use a piece of an easton aluminum arrow I cut with a small pipe cutter for thirty cal. Makes it look like they have been through an lube sizer. Just takes a little time which is fine with me because I don't shoot a large volume of these. :wink:

Offline diddy

Hand Lubing cast bullets
« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2002, 09:21:50 AM »