Author Topic: benjamaniac cannon carriage  (Read 620 times)

Offline benjamaniac

• Trade Count: (0)
benjamaniac cannon carriage
« on: June 14, 2008, 02:06:43 AM »
   Tim...Thanks for the welcome. My son is in the Army right now...stationed in Germany after a tour in Iraq. He's coming home now and wants to get started building a field carriage for the barrel he bought before he did the Iraq thing. the barrel has been sitting in storage since then. He got it from Dixie gun works. Here's a link to the one he got. I'd appreciate any input on what he bought, since I'm new at this and I'm still trying to learn as much as I can before he gets home.
        Ben

http://www.dixiegunworks.com/product_info.php?cPath=22_106_665&products_id=13110

Offline Double D

• Trade Count: (3)
  • SAMCC cannon by Brooks-USA
    • South African Miniature Cannon Club
Re: benjamaniac cannon carriage
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2008, 11:18:12 AM »
Man Montana is getting plumb crowed...Somers-Cut Bank-Miles City...getting where there is just about no elbow room any where. :).  At least  you won't have far to go for powder.

Welcome to our little gathering, I am sure some will be along shortly with Ideas for you carriage.

Offline GGaskill

• Trade Count: (2)
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2008, 01:16:40 PM »

Since the barrel appears to be a 1/2 scale M1841 6 pounder, your best bet would be the No. 12 folio from Antique Ordnance Publishers.  The drawings are full scale but half scale is a simple conversion.
GG
“If you're not a liberal at 20, you have no heart; if you're not a conservative at 40, you have no brain.”
--Winston Churchill

Offline cannonmn

• Trade Count: (1)
« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2008, 03:56:30 PM »
Before you put a lot of work into getting drawings, ask him if he didn't get the drawings with the cannon.  The catalog says:

Each cannon barrel comes with a copy of the original drawings for the field carriage, instructions on how to build the wheels along with safety firing information