Author Topic: Reloading a BAR 30-06--need advice!!!  (Read 825 times)

Offline TOWCOBRA1

• Trade Count: (0)
Reloading a BAR 30-06--need advice!!!
« on: June 29, 2008, 06:29:01 PM »
I have been reloading for bolt guns for 30 yrs.  This past CHRISTmas a friend of mine received a new BAR, synthetic stock, w/scope as a gift. He purchased a couple of boxes of 30-06 Hornady ammo, 150 gr. w/ plastic tips ( SST's I guess). He sighted in his scope and bagged his 1st deer a couple of weeks later. I promised to reload some of his brass with hornady 150 SST bullets. I later realized I should not load autos like I would a bolt gun because the extra pressure might damage his weapon or cause injury. Does anyone have a recommended reload for a new BAR, 30-06, 150 gr hornady SST. OAL,powder,weight, etc, or know what the factory load specs might be? Any advice would be appreciated.
Thanks,
John A.
Some factions in our country have been trying to remove "GOD" since the 1960's.  Now they are trying to remove our right to "bear arms".   I believe in freedom to believe in GOD and I believe in the right (2ND Amendment) to protect my life and property when threatened.

Offline steve4102

• Avid Poster
Re: Reloading a BAR 30-06--need advice!!!
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2008, 02:19:55 AM »
I later realized I should not load autos like I would a bolt gun because the extra pressure might damage his weapon or cause injury

The 30-06 has a SAAMI pressure of 60K whether it is in a bolt gun or auto-loader.  There should be no reason to load a BAR with less chamber pressure than a bolt action.  The BAR also is chambered in 270 Win and the WSMs which run at 65K, so max pressure for the 30-06 will not damage a BAR.