Author Topic: Deer Barrel Questions...  (Read 1246 times)

Offline MJO

• Trade Count: (1)
Deer Barrel Questions...
« on: June 12, 2008, 09:31:21 AM »
I am a newbie.  I have an Encore.  I need a deer rifle barrel. 
I have decided tht I am either going to get a 25-06 or a 7mm-08.  Which would you recomend, Why?  How comparable is the performance and the recoil?

Next question...Heavy barrel?  What is the advantage?  I like the look of them, but what is the advantage/disadvantage?

Barrel length.  I hunt from tree stands so I was leaning to a shorter barrel...hopefully 24" no longer than 26". 
I am currently wanting the 7-08 more but leaning to the 25-06 because I can get a heavy barrel in that caliber.

I am asking for your advise, expertise, and reasoning.

Thank you,
Mike

Offline Grumulkin

• Trade Count: (33)
    • http://www.orchardphoto.com
Re: Deer Barrel Questions...
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2008, 04:01:38 PM »
Both the 25-06 and the 7mm/08 are great for deer.  Recoil is about the same in both.  For long range shooting, the 25-06 has the advantage; for up to 200 yards either will do fine.

The advantage of the heavy barrel is potentially improved accuracy.  I've found the accuracy in tapered Encore barrels to be excellent however.  I do prefer the heavy barrels though.

As far as barrel length is concerned, you will probably will have no more than a 50 to 75 fps velocity advantage with a 26 as opposed to a 24 inch barrel.  On the other hand, will 2 inches really make a difference in a tree stand?

Of all the rifle barrels I have, my Encore 25/06 with a heavy barrel is one of my favorites and one of the most accurate.

By the way, you can get a heavy 7mm/08 barrel through Thompson/Center's Custom Shop.

Offline LHitchcox

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Avid Poster
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2008, 04:07:06 PM »