Author Topic: range report  (Read 1077 times)

Offline billy

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Contributor
range report
« on: October 31, 2008, 01:06:43 AM »
Well i got to shoot my new model 70 today and it shoots as good as it looks.Shot at 25 yards and dialed it in  then moved out to 80 yards and had a 5 shot group in a 1 1/2 by 1 inch group with a dirty barrel not to bad ,i,m very happy with it so far.
I enjoy collecting guns, swaping and staying up on all the newest models. I deer, quail, squirrel and rabbit hunt.

Offline Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
Re: range report
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2008, 03:40:26 AM »
That roughly correlates to 1.875" at 100 yards. Hardly bragging size. Adequate for most shots the majority of us make on game but certainly not what I expect from my guns these days. It is however right in line with what I've seen in the few magazine reports.

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!

Offline billy

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2008, 10:42:05 AM »
I think it will do better with a little more work , that was with one load 130 grain federal premium,good enough to hunt with for now.
I enjoy collecting guns, swaping and staying up on all the newest models. I deer, quail, squirrel and rabbit hunt.

Offline Skunk

• Trade Count: (2)
« Reply #3 on: November 01, 2008, 06:01:11 AM »
I think it will do better with a little more work , that was with one load 130 grain federal premium,good enough to hunt with for now.

Thanks for the report Billy. I too feel that you will see vast improvements in accuracy as you get to know your new rifle better and experiment with different loads.
Mike

"Praise the Lord and Pass the Ammunition" - Frank Loesser

Offline kgarner

« Reply #4 on: November 05, 2008, 02:55:12 PM »