Author Topic: Aiming Question: Dropping Deer In It's Tracks  (Read 3273 times)

Offline Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
Re: Aiming Question: Dropping Deer In It's Tracks
« Reply #30 on: November 15, 2008, 04:44:01 AM »
There is an area above the lungs and below the spine (admittedly not a large area) where there is nothing crucial to the survival of the deer. Hits there often drop a deer in its tracks only to see them jump and run off. Generally hits there are not fatal and the deer do recover nicely.

It is one of the reasons I hate to hear of folks shooting for a HIGH LUNG shot rather than the lower heart/lung shot.

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!

Offline BBF

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • I feel much better now knowing it will get worse.
« Reply #31 on: November 15, 2008, 12:24:48 PM »
I would have thought that access to the chest cavity via a large bullet hole would cause the lungs to collapse from the atmospheric pressure itself. Another reason for a big caliber ;D
What is the point of Life if you can't have fun.

Offline Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
« Reply #32 on: November 15, 2008, 01:06:34 PM »
The area I mention doesn't open a hole in the chest cavity to deflate the lungs but really you need to put a hole in the lungs to do that.

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!

Offline blackbear

• Avid Poster
« Reply #33 on: November 15, 2008, 01:49:41 PM »
I would have thought that access to the chest cavity via a large bullet hole would cause the lungs to collapse from the atmospheric pressure itself. Another reason for a big caliber ;D