Author Topic: casting ???  (Read 575 times)

Offline Good time Charlie

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
casting ???
« on: December 14, 2003, 02:17:56 AM »
I am new at this but love it when it is working right. When I start casting my bullets look amd are great. But after awhile they start coming out blue looking and are not good looking bullets. It seems if I add more lead and flux again it straghtens out. What is going on?
                                  Charlie

Offline wener

casting
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2003, 05:46:22 AM »
after about a half hour to 45mins. or so the allows tends to seperate some! fluxing brings back the allows depending on the temp. you are running. so depending on the the bullet you are casting, and begining with a full pot, fluxing at the start and about 30 min.s in! your bullets will stay more consistant.

Offline LAH

• Contributor
casting ???
« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2003, 07:40:54 AM »
I agree, try fluxing on the half hour.
Joshua 1:9

Offline Calamity Jake

casting ???
« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2003, 10:21:53 AM »
Charley, If you casting with pure lead or something close, high casting temps will cause the alloy to turn blue in color so when you add alloy and flux you are lowering the temp which makes things right again.
Lower the casting temp and see if that will help.

Some beleave that lead alloys will seperate (no flames intended) but that's not ture. What looks like seperation is oxidation of the surface with oxygen in the air.

If you are using a bottom pour pot you can elimanate oxidation by putting a 1/4 in. layer of the cheapest clay cat litter you can find at the G store  on top of the melt. It also  helps hold in heat.

The next time you fire up the pot, flux good, add cat litter, you will never have to flux again. When you add sprus in just lay then on top of the CL they will melt and run thru fluxing along the way.