Author Topic: 12 ga slug question  (Read 678 times)

Offline jerem0621

• Trade Count: (0)
12 ga slug question
« on: November 30, 2008, 04:12:51 PM »
I am a traditional muzzleloader hunter and I am very new to shooting slugs.  The only shotgun I have is a NEF Pardner 12 ga with a modified choke and a bead front sight.  I bought this shotgun the day after I turned 18 and it has mostly sat unused for the last 12 years.  I have bought 3 different brands of 2 3/4 rifled slugs, Winchester super X, Federal Power Shok 1 1/4 oz slugs, and Remington Managed Recoil slugger that I bought the other day.  I have not been to the range yet,  I would like to hunt deer with this shotgun during rifle season,  the only big game rifle I own is a .50 cal Thompson Center New Englander. What kind of accuracy can I expect out of this set up out to about 50 to 65 yards?  I am worried about only having the front bead sight to work with.  I know that under Ideal circumstances I would send this receiver to H&R to have a rifled barrel affixed but the family budget won't allow that just yet.

I also plan on using this shotgun for turkey season coming up.  how do y'all feel about the modified choke and turkey?  I'm sorry to ask so basic questions but the main experience I have with firearms is with my old muzzleloader.

this is my first post and I have enjoyed reading this forum for the past few days :)

thank you,

Jerem0621

Offline Muddy05

• Avid Poster
Re: 12 ga slug question
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2008, 04:30:19 PM »
Welcome to Graybeards!!! I'm pretty much going through the same thing with my 20ga pardner. I myself can't be of much help to you with this question, but the other guys on here surely will. Let us know the results when you go try it out on paper. I thought about getting a 12ga. as well.
Go 214th!!

Offline rlelvis

« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2008, 02:19:51 AM »
Not sure of the accuracy you will get, there are allot of variable there.