Author Topic: What kind of velocity loss do you get at lower charges?  (Read 740 times)

Offline BCall

• Trade Count: (45)
  • Avid Poster
What kind of velocity loss do you get at lower charges?
« on: October 31, 2008, 04:51:55 PM »
I am relatively new to muzzleloading, and am just trying to do everything consistently to get consistent groups out of the 2 guns I am shooting. I am trying to work out one for a friend, and am getting really good groups at 80 grains of loose Pyrodex rs. It is in a 24" barrel. As 100 grains seems to be the average I would say, how much velocity loss is there between 80 and 100 grains. If I up the powder charge to 100 grains groups are not as good, but I want to insure that I am not getting underpowered for deer out to 100-125 yards. I am shooting 240 grain T/C XTP's. They are the only thing that has shot well for me besides the 200 grain T/C shockwaves, but I worry about them being a little light. THanks for the advice, Billy

Offline flintlock

• Trade Count: (0)
Re: What kind of velocity loss do you get at lower charges?
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2008, 06:10:37 PM »
80grs is plenty...My Knight prefers 90grs of Goex FFF and I've dropped deer out to a lasered 143 yards with a 250 Shockwave....

In my .54 caliber flintlock, I shoot a 220gr ball and 80grs of FFF...Hit in the lungs, the ball usually exits, they run 40-65 yards and drop...

Offline Double 30

• Avid Poster
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2008, 04:48:06 AM »