Author Topic: What's a good bowling pin load for 38 sp or 357?  (Read 683 times)

Offline skarke

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (1)
What's a good bowling pin load for 38 sp or 357?
« on: March 03, 2009, 05:13:42 PM »
I am just getting into this.  What a super sport.  However, these guys were using really heavy bullets with some real gitty up.  I checked the manuals, and I see nothing greater than 180.  They are shooting 230 at about 1100, or a PF of about 250.  Don't ask me how, one guy said he uses blue dot.  Needless to say, the pins jump off the table.

I'm shooting lead 158 SWC, cast hardball.  I can purchase bullets, but I'd rather not, just to keep my costs down.  What can I safely push these at in 357?  How about 38 ps?

At 1300 fps, that's just a PF of 205.

What gives?
Freedom is never more than one generation away from extinction. We didn’t pass it on to our children in the bloodstream. It must be fought for, protected, and handed on for them to do the same, or one day we will spend our sunset years telling our children what it was once like in the United States when men were free.  Ronaldus Maximus

Offline cwlongshot

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (158)
  • Shooting, Hunting, the Outdoors & ATVs
Re: What's a good bowling pin load for 38 sp or 357?
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2009, 12:41:24 AM »
I haven't done this much with a 357, but in my 1911 45ACP, a 200Gr hard cast SWC sure sent them spinning!!

Tried it a couple times with my SA long colts. it also worked fine, but took them off the table with a bit more authority!!

I would suggest just what your using a good hard cast lead 158-160 SWC. If these are times or comp events, you need to work on accuracy with less recoil as it will allow you to be back on target smoother. Its really hard to overcome a miss.

CW
"Pay heed to the man who carries a single shot rifle, he likely knows how to use it."

NRA LIFE Member