Author Topic: Read any good Deer Hunting books lately?  (Read 1224 times)

Offline biglmbass

• Trade Count: (0)
Read any good Deer Hunting books lately?
« on: December 20, 2002, 05:03:31 AM »
Ok, ok, I'm technically in the wrong forum.  However, looks like the book review forum was not too active.  I'm itching to get a good deer hunting read or two at the bookstore.  One of my favorites deer books has recently been revised.  It's called Trophy Deer Hunting by John Wooters.  I first read this one way back when I was a freshman in H.S.  Very good book -- I highly recommend it.  Recently I noticed a new one called Treestand Hunging Strategies by Gary Clancy.  Has anyone read this one?  Like it or no?  Also, I notice Greg Miller has several deer hunting books on the shevles.  I've never read any of his stuff, can anyone recommend any of his books.  Thanks in advance.

Offline huntsman

• A Real Regular
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2002, 05:31:16 AM »
You don't say exactly from your post whether you are looking for fiction, non-fiction, or both, but from your titles it seems you are leaning more toward non-fiction. Here are some books @ whitetails that I own and enjoy.

Whitetails by Erwin A Bauer. 1993. Voyaguer Press, Inc., P.O. Box 338, 123 North Second Street, Stillwater, MN 55082.
This volume has some of the best factual info on the history and distribution of whitetails and their subspecies, as well as good stuff on behavior, antler growth, other animals in whitetail range, other deer, and conservation issues @ whitetails. Also has some impressive photos.

Tracking and the Art of Seeing by Paul Rezendes. 1992. Camden House Publishing, Ferry Road, Charlotte, VT 05445.
I have used this book in the field to identify sign and tracks. Has detailed and useful info including scat, tracks, and other signs for most of the larger N. American mammals. Excellent drawings and photos.