Author Topic: scope reticle question  (Read 1014 times)

Offline lonewolf5348

• Trade Count: (38)
scope reticle question
« on: May 11, 2009, 06:44:17 AM »
I was think in trying the mil dot over the regular duplex reticle
any one here use the mil dot set-up for deer hunting if so what are your views on the mil dot

Offline Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
Re: scope reticle question
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2009, 10:25:37 AM »
I prefer a mil dot for varmints but prefer a plex for hunting big game. Just personal preference really but on big game I want a bolder cross hair than most mil dots are.

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!

Offline lonewolf5348

• Trade Count: (38)
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2009, 02:03:50 PM »
Graybeard : are the center cross hairs on the mil dots could be called (fine) like the old time weaver fine cross hairs?

Offline ncsurveyor

• Trade Count: (24)
  • A Real Regular
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2009, 02:11:49 PM »
I've used mildots and Ballistic drop compensator's (BDC) reticles for deer hunting,

I like the mil dots, especially for ranging purposes, but I've used mil scales, stadia scales, and other ranging optics throughout my military career and now as a surveyor.

Have manged to put Burris' BDC's on all but one of my guns, in lieu of mil dots. Mainly because they are less expensive than the mil-dot scopes I preferred and I really wanted to "common optic" my rifles, just for continuity.

Offline Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2009, 06:17:11 PM »
Graybeard : are the center cross hairs on the mil dots could be called (fine) like the old time weaver fine cross hairs?

Maybe not quite as fine as that but pretty darn fine for big game hunting in low light conditions at least as far as I'm concerned.