Author Topic: 54 lyman great plains  (Read 1285 times)

Offline original

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Avid Poster
54 lyman great plains
« on: September 10, 2010, 01:46:30 PM »
ok i am now back to this page.   i am new to the flint lock world.  i found out that the flint lock that i was told was not the hunter and is the regular gpr.   after seeing how much cheaper the roundballs are i am happy the salesman made a mistake.   anyway i got the basics down and now just looking for any info that the more experienced guys can pass along to me.  powder charge, maintenance, bullet selection for hunting etc .  thanks everyone.   

Offline Swampman

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (44)
Re: 54 lyman great plains
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2010, 01:51:26 PM »
.520 to .530 roundball and 60-80 grains of Goex 3f will work perfectly.  You can use 3f for priming too.
"Brother, you say there is but one way to worship and serve the Great Spirit. If there is but one religion, why do you white people differ so much about it? Why not all agreed, as you can all read the Book?" Sogoyewapha, "Red Jacket" - Senaca

1st Special Operations Wing 1975-1983
919th Special Operations Wing  1983-1985 1993-1994

"Manus haec inimica tyrannis / Ense petit placidam sub libertate quietem" ~Algernon Sidney~

Offline trkyman1

• Trade Count: (7)
  • Avid Poster
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2010, 03:16:47 PM »
You will need to put 100 rounds down the barrel before you settle on a load. They take some breaking in. I shot several loads out of mine one shot great the other not so good. Then after breaking in the barrel Im shooting one ragged hole at 50yrds with the load that would not shoot well before break in. That info was handed down to me from another gpr user on another site. Just passing the info. Great rifle.

Offline lakota

• Trade Count: (26)
« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2010, 04:12:47 PM »