Author Topic: case trimmer suggestions  (Read 763 times)

Offline hardly

• Trade Count: (0)
case trimmer suggestions
« on: March 31, 2009, 10:21:54 AM »
I am fairly new to reloading and am at the point that i need a case trimmer.  Currently shooting .223, 22-250 and .308.  Usually reloading 50 to 200 rounds per month.  I think a manual trimmer will be ok for me and would like to stay under $100.  Looking at the Hornady Cam Lock Trimmer at Midway for about $65 and the Lyman Accutrimmer for $47 or Lyman Universal for $62.  Looking for recommendations.  Looks like I have time to decide cause like everything else right now, they are all on backorder.  thanks

Offline AtlLaw

• Moderators
  • Trade Count: (58)
  • A good woman, nice bike and fine guns!
Re: case trimmer suggestions
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2009, 10:43:57 AM »
Had an RCBS, liked it.  Got a Forster, LOVE it!   ;D
Actually I still have the RCBS and find I can trim my 45-120 brass with it which I can't with the Forster unless I got a "Classic" base.   :(
Richard
Former Captain of Horse, keeper of the peace and interpreter of statute.  Currently a Gentleman of leisure.
Nemo me impune lacessit

Support your local US Military Vets Motorcycle Club

Offline stimpylu32

• Moderators
  • Trade Count: (67)
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2009, 11:13:03 AM »
I too am a Forster fan , so much so that I have 3 set up and a forth for spare parts , picked them up on E-bay for about 1/2 the price of new .

Even the Lee hand trimmers with their Zip Trim gizmo is not too bad for doing small lots of brass , don't know if I'd want to do a few hundred at a time with it though .  :o

stimpy
Deceased June 17, 2015

:D If i can,t stop it with 6 it can,t be stopped

Offline quickdtoo

• Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (149)
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2009, 12:33:13 PM »
Go for a little over $100 and you can get a machine that takes care of all brass prep with a little modification.  ;)

Tim