Author Topic: How much Bullseye is safe with 166gr cast in a 357mag  (Read 684 times)

Offline Sixgun

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Contributor
How much Bullseye is safe with 166gr cast in a 357mag
« on: September 12, 2003, 03:41:49 AM »
I have been shooting Cowboy Rifle Silhouette now for 2 years.  I do great with the small bore but have been lagging with the center fire pistol cartridge matches.  I decided to do more practice with it so for the last few weeks I have been doing my Thursday practice sessions with my Rossi 92 357 mag.

Last week I was looking over some old load notes and saw a load I tested a few years ago in this gun.  It consisted of a Lee 166gr cast from soft lead alloy which comes out of the mold at 170gr.  Winchester Brass, 5 gr of Bullseye and a CCI standard small pistol primer.  The note on it said that the standard deviation was 1.  

I loaded up 10 rounds and went out back of the barn and shot them over my chrony.  The High Volicity was 1216 and the Low was 1214 for 10 rounds.  The Extreme spread listed at 1.83 and Std Div was 1.

I loaded up enough for a 40 rnd match and took them out and tried them last night.  They worked great and I shot a AAA score of 31.  This is my all time high for this type of match with this gun.

I am trying to decide why I never did anything with this load.  I looked in all of my reloading data and couldn't find anything with this much bullseye with that heavy of a bullet.  

I didn't see any pressure signs on the cases.  Primers were rounded and not cratered.  Extraction was easy and they seem to shoot great.

I didn't have to adjust my sights for the whole match either.  I shot at the stand for the 40 meter chickens, belley line on the 50 meter pigs, dead on at the 75 meter turkeys and dead on at the 100 meter rams.  The chickens were all burried in the berm.  I had some 1/2 bullet hits on the rams that still went down.