Author Topic: Do your deer normally run after the shot?  (Read 6313 times)

Offline hunt-m-up

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (27)
Re: Do your deer normally run after the shot?
« Reply #60 on: July 29, 2009, 04:13:02 AM »
Yeah, I would guess your shots with the 45/70 wouldn't be too far in that situation, it will definitely break them down if you take the front end out from under them.  Some guys are fond of the neck shot which would ruin less meat and with that big slug it could really do a number shooting them there. I bet they're half tame from eating out of the garden so to speak. If you want them to really stink in that heat, give them the Texas heart shot.
Crosman Slingshot, Daisy Red Ryder, dull butter knife

Offline Halwg

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Contributor
« Reply #61 on: July 29, 2009, 04:28:37 AM »
I watch a lot of hunting TV programs.  Nearly every rifle shot on a whitetail results in a tracking job.  Now I am no expert but I've taken nearly 200 whitetails in NC in 40+ years (we no longer have a limit on doe deer), and the deer I shoot with a rifle do not usually take a step.  Maybe one in twenty of my deer run out of sight.  On the TV shows, about 19 of 20 deer run away.

Why do you think the TV deer run after the shot?  Ramge is not normally a factor.  Granted a lot of the deer I shoot are does, but I've taken my share of bucks in NC and in other states.  I just don't see why the TV hunter's deer nearly always run out of camera sight.

Do the TV hunters normally shoot too far back on their deer? 

What is your experiance?

I don't agree with this statement.  I've watched a lot of these scripted programs and the deer dropped in their tracks.  I shot 2 deer this past season, one ran 20 yards and the other 35.  Both with their hearts and lungs destroyed.  It doesn't bother me.  I've had them drop in their tracks, as well.  It's something you have to expect.
The older I get...The better I was.

Offline jmayton

• A Real Regular