Author Topic: Sizing for .44Mag-  (Read 1517 times)

Offline JRiddle

• Trade Count: (14)
  • Avid Poster
Sizing for .44Mag-
« on: July 03, 2009, 03:23:13 AM »
I'm just getting into casting, and have what may be a dumb question, but...I'm wanting to cast some .44 mag with mold diameter of .430, then I figured I'd be sizing down to .429.  But while browsing to order my sizer I see they have .429 and .430 sizers.  How do I know which I need?  The bullet is the Lee tumble lube 240gr. SWC and I intend to shoot the majority in my 14" Contender. JR
"Give me Liberty...or I'll get up, and get it myself."

Offline mdi

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (1)
  • Contributor
Re: Sizing for .44Mag-Mod.please move to cast bullet discussion
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2009, 11:33:31 AM »
Slugging the barrel will tell you what size bullet you'll need (carefully drive a sofe lead egg sinker or pure lead ball through your lightly lubed barrel and measure with mics.).  Size the bullet .001" to .002" over bore size for best accuracy and least leading. A lot of shooters don't size the Lee T/L bullets, just lube and load, I do.

http://www.lasc.us/Brennan_2-1_MeasuringGunDimensions.htm

Offline JRiddle

• Avid Poster
Re: Sizing for .44Mag-
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2009, 04:50:12 PM »
Thanks for the info mdi, I will slug it for a point of reference, and hopefully not have to size. JR

Offline Nobade

• Trade Count: (2)
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2009, 02:29:58 PM »
Depending on when that Contender was made, you not only won't have to size but will need to figure out how to get your bullets to be big enough. Most will take a .433 - .434 bullet, and not many moulds out there that will throw them that big. If you run into this case, and can find a 265gr. Ranch Dog mould, you'll be a happy camper.
"Give me a lever long enough, and a place to stand, and I'll break the lever."

Offline JRiddle

• Avid Poster
« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2009, 07:06:57 PM »