Author Topic: 8mm Mag. reloading  (Read 242 times)

Offline kix

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
8mm Mag. reloading
« on: August 03, 2009, 04:50:14 PM »
  Hello all. I have been reloading for 30 years,usually stuff like '06,270,and 243 and a lot more standard calibers. All of these cartridges have been reloaded umpteen times with no problems because I never load Max but where I've had a problem is with my 8 mag.and it is the only belted cartridge I load. Again,I never load it hot but have had to discard many cases after as few as 3 firings due to splits in the neck/shoulder region. Am I doing something wrong with the belted case? Any help will be highly appreciated.  Kix

Offline rockislandrod

• Trade Count: (16)
  • Avid Poster
Re: 8mm Mag. reloading
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2009, 03:59:58 AM »
Hello Kix.  I reload 8 mag. also and only get 3 or 4 reloads out of them. I thought that may be normal for the Big Boy...... Rod

Offline crash87

• Trade Count: (5)
  • Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2009, 04:58:32 AM »
Interesting, While I've not had the split neck problem I did have case head seperation after 3 to 4 firings. I'll give you my thoughts & results as maybe a answer to your problem.
     When firing brass for the first time I would I would run them through the resize die to true them up and then trim to length, load and shoot for groups, (woking up a load). On subsequent resizing I would partial resize by sight so as not to set the shoulder back to far. The problem still existed, 3-4 firings and throw away. I purchaced a stoney point, now Hornady, headspace gauge. A good investment as I found I was, by sight, setting the shoulder to far back, with the gauge I was now able to set the shoulder back precisley .002 everytime, problem solved? No way, still was happening.