Author Topic: .22 Hornet  (Read 1716 times)

Offline Star1pup

• Trade Count: (0)
  • A Real Regular
.22 Hornet
« on: August 18, 2009, 04:49:52 AM »
I've been told that the .22 Hornet is hard to hand load.  Anyone have experience loading this cartridge?

Offline Bob A

• Avid Poster
Re: .22 Hornet
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2009, 06:49:23 AM »
The Hornet has a reputation for thin walls that can easily buckle and being very picky about .1 grain of powder making big differences in accuracy (group size).
All true - BUT -
I have been loading for my Handi Rifle Hornet for a couple of years and have found a very good (for me) process.

1. Neck Size Only. Easier on the cases. I use the Lee die set.
2. Use Lil'gun powder. Loads from 12 to 13.5 grains do very well and fill the case 90 - 100 %. Great performance, good accuracy, forgiving of small variances.
3. 40 Gr VMax or Nosler 40 BT bullets. The boat tail design makes bullet seating very easy with no case crushing issues.

If you don't use the Boat Tail bullets, be sure to chamfer the case mouths or even flair them slightly (like you would loading cast)

I get great results and really enjoy my Hornet.

Give it a try, you'll like it.

Bob A

Offline Catfish

« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2009, 09:16:32 AM »
I think that the main reason people say loading for the Hornet is hard is because of the small bullets and small cases. Hornets can be finicky, but once you find a good load your good to go.

Offline Wyo. Coyote Hunter

« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2009, 10:52:23 AM »