Author Topic: mil dot scope?  (Read 911 times)

Offline mrbigtexan

• Trade Count: (7)
  • A Real Regular
mil dot scope?
« on: October 21, 2009, 05:33:27 PM »
whats your feelings about them? no brand in specific,  just mil dot reticles.

Offline Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
Re: mil dot scope?
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2009, 05:39:57 PM »
I like them for target/varmint use but kinda prefer to stick with a plex reticle on big game hunting rifles. I could live with them I guess if I hunted in well lighted open areas but in the dense woods and low light I'll take a plex.

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!

Offline teddy12b

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2009, 06:10:23 PM »
I have a Nikon Buckmaster 4.5-14x with the mildot.  I really like that scope for a number of reasons, and the reticle is one of them. 

I like a mildot because it's like grid paper, if I see a round kick up two dots over and half a dot down, I can make a quick adjustment and fire again hitting what I want to.  I do this all the time as I'm still trying to get better at judging wind at longer ranges. 

I also like that you can use it as a BDC, or ballistic plex reticle for the same purpose of hold over points, but it's not as good at that as the two I just mentioned.

Another thing I like, they just look cool and add a little fun factor to the shooting experience.

I took that scope black bear hunting over bait in the Ontario bush (which is similar to a jungle from what I've heard) and even at last light that scope & reticle were clear enough I could have taken a shot if the option would have been there.

Offline Bigeasy

• Trade Count: (5)
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2009, 11:48:02 PM »