Author Topic: Weighing Charges  (Read 363 times)

Offline HuntAway

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Their service for our freedom. Thank a Veteran!
Weighing Charges
« on: November 20, 2009, 04:41:39 AM »
I'm very new to reloading and I have a question. Once your powder dispenser has been calibrated cto throw a certain charge, is it necessary to weight each and every charge? Or do you just weight the odd one to make sure it is throwing the proper charge?

Thanks,

HA

Offline PA-Joe

• A Real Regular
Re: Weighing Charges
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2009, 04:48:22 AM »
With the exception of pistol loads, I measure each one and top off with a trickler! But I only do a few hundred at a time. Some say do 1/10 to make certain it's still throwing correctly. Key with using the dispensers is tapping once on both the up and down strokes to settle the powder into the measure and to make certain it all drops out. Also look in each filled case while they are in the block to make certain they are all at about the same fill level before you start seating bullets.

Offline skb2706

• Trade Count: (5)
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2009, 04:51:43 AM »
Depends on the powder. Some powders that are extruded (coarse and larger grained) don't go thru a powder measure worth a dam. Some powders that are sperical go thru like water and measure out very well. it also depends on the operator, if you want consistent dropped charges you have to use a consistent method of operating the measure....same motion, same effort. Try dropping 15 20 charges and weighing each one to see how consistent you are.

Offline HuntAway

« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2009, 05:28:09 AM »
Thank you for the replies. I'll be using two powders to start. Hodgdon Varget for the 308 and IMR3031 for the 45-70.

HA

Offline Blackhawker

• Trade Count: (38)
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2009, 05:41:02 AM »