Author Topic: Tight primer pockets in Hornady 30/30 cases  (Read 676 times)

Offline coryroc

• Trade Count: (0)
Tight primer pockets in Hornady 30/30 cases
« on: November 16, 2009, 05:15:25 PM »
I'm fairly new to handloading and have started to reload once fired Hornady .30.30 cases (Leverevolution load).  I found that the primers I use (Remington 9 1/2) can't be seated in the Hornady cases when using my Lee hand primer.  The primer pocket seems to be too tight.  After using as much force as I'm comfortable with the primer still only sits about half-way into the pocket.   Has anyone had a similar experience?  Thanks. 

Offline P.A. Myers

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (65)
Re: Tight primer pockets in Hornady 30/30 cases
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2009, 07:59:38 PM »
It is not at all unusual to have tight primer pockets.
I have 44mag nickle and 45autorim that need extra push to get them seated flush.
Do you have a bench press? If you do get a ram primer tool. I know lee makes one as does rcbs. These seat on the downstroke, much more power[sometimes too much] and easy on the shoulder.
You can also get primer pocket reamers. These will size the pockets, not just clean them.
“Never give in, never give in, never; never; never; never - in nothing, great or small, large or petty -
never give in except to convictions of honor and good sense”
 Winston Churchill

Offline Steve P

• Trade Count: (10)
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2009, 06:00:34 AM »
It is not uncommon to have tight primer pockets.  If you are new and unfamiliar with the Lee priming tool, try rotating the case 90 degrees and trying to seat the primer again.  Once in a while the primer will start a little bit crooked.  If you rotate the case 90 degrees, it will straighten the primer out and it will go right in.  I found this out when seating primers in 5.56 brass that I may not have removed all of the primer crimp.