Author Topic: new or used  (Read 647 times)

Offline GRIMJIM

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (1)
new or used
« on: December 01, 2009, 12:58:49 PM »
I have a remington woodsmaster that I would like to put a scope on.
I also have a remington 11-87 that has a nikon prostaff scope on it that I like.
I have three choices in mind:

1-put the nikon on the remington and buy a leupold shotgun scope. (I like the 40 mm objective lense though)
2-buy another prostaff for the rifle.
3-buy a leupold for the rifle.

I am leaning towards #3 but that leads me to my main question.

Is the new lowend series of leupold (rifleman I think it's called) a better scope than the nikon prostaff, or should I look for a used leupold.
GBO SENIOR MEMBER "IF THAT BALL COMES IN MY YARD I'M KEEPING IT!"

NRA LIFE MEMBER

UNION STEWARD CARPENTERS LOCAL 1027

IF GOD DIDN'T WANT US TO EAT ANIMALS, WHY DID HE MAKE THEM OUT OF MEAT?

Offline drdougrx

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (10)
Re: new or used
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2009, 01:45:28 PM »
Hi Grim....My opinion...buy a new VXI series or a used VXII.  Leupold will fix whatever's wrong with it if anything.  Look it over...other than some ring marks you should be able to tell if the scope has been abused.
If you like, please enjoy some of my hunt pics at:

http://public.fotki.com/DrDougRx

If you leave a comment, please leave your GB screen name so that I can reply back!

Offline eye shot

• Trade Count: (0)
  • A Real Regular
    • Mike's Obituary
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2009, 02:55:35 PM »
Check out the new Redfields by Leupold. The price is right and they have Leupolds forever warranty.
RIP Mike. Died on July 14th, around 2am, with his family at his side, he went peacefully to be with god.

http://www.sent-trib.com/obituaries/michael-l-schulte

Offline JimFromTN

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2009, 03:36:54 AM »