Author Topic: actual content of inner case neck lube ?  (Read 645 times)

Offline preventec47

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
actual content of inner case neck lube ?
« on: January 06, 2010, 03:03:00 AM »
                                                                                                                               yyyyyyvvvvvactual content of inner case neck lube  ?

Other than the dry powder lube, has anyone
figured out what the lube is that goes
on wet and then dries so as to not contaminate
the powder in the cartridge ?

I was thinking maybe a wax disolved in a solvent that evaporates ?

If I knew the names of several I would try to look them up in the
federal MSDS database ( Material Safety Data Sheet ?)

Offline necchi

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (40)
Re: actual content of inner case neck lube ?
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2010, 05:28:52 AM »
 Just a note for ya on msds, I use those all the time at my job, I'm a process chemical engineer, it's a big word that means I mix stuff. We make plastic, medical supply's.
 If a product is paten, or prioritized, they don't have to tell you what's init. They can say "11 secret herbs and spices".
 They just need to list reactivity, time weighted averages, recomended personal protection, disposal, clean-up an such. They can put it in language the average feller would need a lawyer to interpret.
 That said, Lee says their case lube won't harm powder. I use RCBS Case Lube-2 with their pad then wash and dry my cases before loading, I guess waiting isn't a big deal for me, kinda getting older and not so much in a hurry ya know?
found elsewhere

Offline trotterlg

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (36)
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2010, 06:37:30 AM »
I think most of the inside neck lubes use Mica for the lube.  Probably also a carrier that evaporates off like the way graphite lock lube works.  Larry
A gun is just like a parachute, if you ever really need one, nothing else will do.

Offline cwlongshot