Author Topic: Lee collet dies  (Read 608 times)

Offline doninva

• Trade Count: (35)
  • Contributor
Lee collet dies
« on: January 19, 2010, 03:02:29 PM »
What is advantage of collet dies and how do they work. Thanks, Don

Offline LilNewt

• Trade Count: (4)
Re: Lee collet dies
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2010, 04:09:18 PM »
I am not an expert, and I am sure others will chime in.  But seeing how no one has answered yet I will take a stab at it.

From my research into reloading the collet dies will resize the neck of the case only.  Therefore they do not "work" the brass on the entire case, just the necks.  This allows two things: 1. they are supposed to give longer brass life.  2.  They are supposed to improve the accuracy by the fact that the case does not have to "stretch" each time it is fired in the same chamber.

The only draw back that I have ever found is that it is best use with brass that is either brand new, or has been fired from your particular rifle.

Offline doninva

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2010, 04:35:08 PM »
Thanks, I appreciate the info. Don

Offline possum6

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2010, 04:46:45 PM »
Don, that is all I ever use on my reloads, the only drawback is you have to use or shoot that brass that is neck-sized in one particular rifle. Lee says they offer less runout on bullet seating. I do not have that particular tool to check run-out but I took some that I had N/S and they were below tolerance for run-out. I am very pleased with mine.
I believe everything that happen's, or will happen,was created, or created in the future, GOD knew and created from the very beginning of the foundation of the universe.       Dale

Offline doninva

• Contributor
« Reply #4 on: January 19, 2010, 04:50:58 PM »
I am going to order the 3 die set with FL die -Collet die and seater die for my .223. Thanks, Don

Offline shot1

« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2010, 03:42:21 AM »