Author Topic: Best scope for AR 15  (Read 2951 times)

Offline shotgunner

• Trade Count: (8)
  • A Real Regular
Best scope for AR 15
« on: February 03, 2010, 03:12:24 PM »
I have a Bushmaster 24" HB AR. I just bought a short upper and will use a red dot on it. I am going to go to a high power scope on the 24" gun and am wondering what might work best. Is there a scope designed to work with this platform. I like the idea of a reticule with aiming points, like a balistic-plex. I want to sight in at maybe 200 yards and have an aiming point, or points out to 500, with a 1 in 9 twist I would be shooting heavy bullets. Shotgunner
NSSA member
past PSSA Vice President
Life member NRA
Father of 3
Hunter/ Trapper/Fisherman
Owner, Skyline Skeet & Trap
Gun nut
"Game butchery is as objectionable as any other form of wanton cruelty or barbarity; but to protest against all hunting is a sign of softness of head not soundness of heart"
Theodore Roosevelt

Offline Lloyd Smale

• Moderators
  • Trade Count: (32)
Re: Best scope for AR 15
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2010, 02:17:08 AM »
most real snipers will not use a scope like that. they will use a mildot and use the dots to dope range and windage but will make the ajustments with there turnents not use the dots. To me ive allways like a scope with just duplex and then get to know the trajectory of your gun and keep something taped on the gun to let me know what changes are need at differnt yardages. In all reality a .223 doesnt need any more then 10x. A good 3x9 might be ideal with maybe a 4x12 as an option. Personaly i like leupold scopes but nikon and bushnell make good scopes too. Lots of guys are really talking up the new vortex scopes too. there suppose to be a real good bang for the buck
blue lives matter

Offline Varmintnut260

• Trade Count: (12)
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2010, 05:24:31 AM »