Author Topic: first slug gun?  (Read 1398 times)

Offline HSBB

• Trade Count: (0)
first slug gun?
« on: July 23, 2010, 04:14:50 PM »
Hi, all! Maryland bowhunter/muzzleloader but H&R noob here, who's really glad to find the collective Greybeard wisdom!

Most MD counties are shotgun only for deer, as are almost all of the state managed hunts. So I'm thinking of a cheap frugal way to get in on the fun--I have four kids and owe too many people too much money. ;D A single shot H&R makes the most sense to me, but I'm a little stuck on which route to take. I know I'm going with a 20ga., but having trouble sorting out the following options:

1. Ultra Slug Hunter $250 new, plus cost of scope (super gun, but a bit spendy in my current situation)

2. Tracker II $180 new (another great gun. my only reservation is recoil as it weighs five pounds vs. the USH's eight and has more drop in the stock, but with 1oz. sabots and a Sims slip-on pad, I think I'll be fine, right?)

3. Pardner or Topper smoothbore $60-100 used (cheapest most frugal to buy & most frugal to run, since rifled slugs are far less than sabot loads, but I guess I have the most Qs about this option:

a. Will just a bead sight be adequate? I've read that people make it work...
b. What's the difference btw Pardners and Toppers? Which would you recommend?
c. If I got a fixed choke, which would be best, mod or full? Would full work with slugs AND turkey loads?

Sheesh! If you made it this far and have a minute or ten to weigh in, I'd sure appreciate it!

Offline spikehorn

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (84)
Re: first slug gun?
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2010, 04:35:54 PM »
 I have a Tracker II 20ga. I had it drilled and tapped and put a Tru Glo 2x red dot on it. It has the hard plastic but blate and with 2 3/4" lightfields its an absolute tack driver. 3 shots into 2 holes touching at 65 yards. Recoil with the lightfields is just a slight nudge even off the bench. I took a doe with it at 80 yards.