Author Topic: I have a tumbler media question.  (Read 715 times)

Offline DalesCarpentry

• Trade Count: (32)
  • I would rather be shooting!!
I have a tumbler media question.
« on: September 03, 2010, 06:30:09 PM »
I bought a new Lyman 1200 Turbo tumbler tonight. It came with their media that is little green things. I have no idea what it is made of seeing as I have never used a tumbler before. I put some cases in it for a couple hours and pulled them out. Well I always thought they were to come out clean and looking like new but these cases have like a thin film on them that needs wiped off to make them look that way. Is it supposed to be this way? Is there another media I can use that I dont have to take the time to rub with a cloth to get it looking like new? I am new to tumbling brass and just don't know. Thanks and take care Dale
The quality of a mans life is in direct proportion to his commitment to excellence.

A bad day at the range is better than a good day at work!!

Offline Dill45

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
Re: I have a tumbler media question.
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2010, 06:52:42 PM »
I believe it is corn cob media though I'm not 100% sure on it.

I haven't found one yet that doesn't leave a residue, but I've only used about 4 different types of media so I'm no expert.

Offline tacklebury

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (12)
  • Central Michigan
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2010, 07:44:40 PM »