Author Topic: Breech cleaning  (Read 707 times)

Offline Rayfan87

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
Breech cleaning
« on: September 13, 2010, 04:40:32 PM »
I'm new to solid breech weapons and recently got a 34 cal. cannon what tips do you have for cleaning the breechplug? I've tried putting a piece of cleaning patch on the wire borebrush, but that seems to leave alot of fouling.

Offline Double D

• Trade Count: (3)
  • SAMCC cannon by Brooks-USA
    • South African Miniature Cannon Club
Re: Breech cleaning
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2010, 04:44:04 PM »
Over lap the patch on the end of the brush and twist the rod at the bottom of the bore.

Offline Cat Whisperer

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Pulaski Coehorn Works
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2010, 05:14:41 PM »
Rayfan87 --

WELCOME to the board!

Small bores ARE a pain to clean! 

I'll bet you'll be making some custom tools that include stiff wire and perhaps chore-boy or steel wool.

Tim K                 www.GBOCANNONS.COM
Cat Whisperer
Chief of Smoke, Pulaski Coehorn Works & Winery
U.S.Army Retired
N 37.05224  W 80.78133 (front door +/- 15 feet)

Offline Rayfan87

• Avid Poster
« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2010, 05:29:35 PM »
Well, I haven't gotten to that point yet. I have a set of cleaning tools for the rest of my guns, all I have done is "modify" (cut the extra core wire and solder it closed) one of the wire brushes. I've tried putting patch on the end of the brush, running it to the back, pushing it so hard it almost bends the wire, and twisting. I think my next move is talking to a dental hygienist friend and getting a cleaning pick then going through the touch hole.

Offline Cat Whisperer

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Pulaski Coehorn Works
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2010, 05:46:18 PM »
I'd try a couple of things -