Author Topic: Dumb stunt  (Read 543 times)

Offline oldandslow

• Trade Count: (0)
Dumb stunt
« on: September 19, 2010, 01:14:58 PM »
I've been reloading for over forty years and the only reason I'm admitting to doing this is to point out that it can happen to anyone. I'm pretty careful about reloading and have a routine. If I'm sizing, trimming brass, or priming, I'll listen to the radio or answer questions when the wife hollers at me and generally can break my routine and easily go back to where I was. Friday afternoon I was pulled the bullets on some loads with Varget that didn't work out and returned the powder to the bottle it was originally in. When I finished I screwed the lid on and set the bottle to the side. That is where I messed up as you will see. When I am doing anything that involves powder the radio is turned off and I concentrate on what I'm doing. No visiting, no daydreaming, just concentrate on making sure everything is right.

I also had some loads using 4895 powder that weren't too great either so I proceeded to pull the bullets and save the powder. I use a small glass jar to pour the powder into from the case and then transfer it to the bottle or can the powder originally came in when I'm finished pulling bullets. Just as I finished pulling the last bullet my wife walked in as she had just returned from the grocery story. There she had ran into a friend of ours that was fixing to go on a trip. I sat there while she told her tale and then I picked up the bottle of Varget, removed the lid, and proceeded to dump the salvaged 4895 into it. I immediately realised what I had done.  :'( After I finally shut up telling myself what a dumba$$ I was I went out and fertilized a crepemyrtle bush with that bottle of Varget. That bush better appreciate it. That's the most expensive fertilizer it's ever had.