Author Topic: What do I need in a range finder?  (Read 388 times)

Offline charles p

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (1)
What do I need in a range finder?
« on: October 25, 2010, 04:36:10 PM »
I hunt deer over large fields in NC.  I am now 64 and can't seem to pull off 400-500 yard shots any more.  About 250 is my limit now days.  Must be the eyes.

Last weekend I hunted a field that I assumed offered a 150 yard shot.  I walked it off later at 270.  What an error I made.  Seems a range finder is in order.

What should I look for?  A max range of 600 yards seems sufficient for my needs.  I understand the value of quality optics when it comes to binocs and scopes, but I don't know if a less expensive lasar is inferior to a more expensive lasar.  Seems the physics are the same, but I have no experience.

What do you recommend?  Are there good used models on eBay or our GB classifieds?

Offline Siskiyou

• Trade Count: (0)
Re: What do I need in a range finder?
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2010, 05:15:11 PM »
I might be a little loose here, but I believe many rangefinders distance is based on reflection value.  My Nikon 800 (800 yards)  is good for about 400 yards which just about matches my long range ability. 

I am tired of carrying to many items in the field and if pushed I would leave my rangefinder behind instead of my binoculars.  The 6X glass in my rangefinder does not come close to replacing my 10X Leupold binoculars deer hunting.  I spend a lot of time glassing.

Recently this item has captured my attention; it resolves the need for binoculars and a rangefinder.
http://www.bushnell.com/products/binoculars/fusion/
FUSION® 1600 ARC
Binocular/Rangefinder

Binocular Features
•   BaK-4 prisms with PC-3® phase corrective coating for superior resolution and clarity
•   RainGuard® HD water repellent lens coating
•   100% waterproof
•   VDTTM (Vivid Display Technology) - enhances display readout in all lighting conditions