Author Topic: Which one of these hand held GPS units is better??  (Read 1531 times)

Offline NYH1

• Trade Count: (0)
Which one of these hand held GPS units is better??
« on: November 14, 2011, 11:02:11 AM »
I'm looking at these two Garmin GPS units, the eTrex 10 and eTrex Venture HC.  Which one would be better for hunting in warm summer months to very cold winter months, ATV and truck off road trail riding?  I've never used a hand held GPS before. . . . .but I hate getting lost!

Thanks in advance, NYH1! ;)
"ROLL TIDE". . .Back To Back. . .Three In The Last Four Years "GO GIANTS"  "YANKEES"

Offline Siskiyou

Re: Which one of these hand held GPS units is better??
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2011, 05:23:12 PM »
The ability to install mapping software to a gps that covers the area you plan on hunting is a safety enhancement.  Many years ago when I first became interested in buying a gps unit I was working forest fires in Idaho. I had an opportunity to compare a few units out in the woods.  During this time period I would talk to the wife back home about my new interest in gps units.  After returning home after sixty days on fires in Idaho, Montana, Nevada, and Utah I knew that I wanted a Mapping GPS. 

When I returned home I started researching mapping gps units and decided that I wanted to buy a Garmin Legend.  The wife seeing what I was looking at went digging into her Christmas present hiding place and came out with a non-mapping Garmin she had bought for me.  She understood where I was coming from.  The gps was returned to Wal Mart and we bought a Garmin eTrex Legend.  I have upgrade a few times since.

The eTrex Venture HC is a mapping unit, the eTrex 10 is not.  The Topo Map software is more than just a map, you can go to Points of Interest find nearby mines, campgrounds, stream names, names of mountains, and other sites.  I get a lot of use out of the mapping software I have installed on my units.