Author Topic: A question for all metals experts  (Read 589 times)

Offline robbob

• Trade Count: (0)
A question for all metals experts
« on: May 07, 2011, 01:55:47 PM »
This is a little off topic, but here goes.  A tree fell in a windstorm and bent part of the reel that holds the solar cover for our pool.   What is actually bent is the handle that rolls/unrolls it.  I cant seem to locate a replacement part.  It is just a 3/4" solid aluminum rod with 2 90 degree bends to make a handle.  I just started looking for aluminum rod and it appears that there are several types; 2011, 2024, 6061, and 7065.  Any suggestions as to what to get?  How hard will it be to bend (I could not bend the original piece straight as it slides through a bearing, I had to cut it off.  Could an auto shop that bends exhaust pipe bend something like this?

Thanks
Rob

Offline Soot

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Contributor
Re: A question for all metals experts
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2011, 03:30:47 PM »
I'm no expert but it looks like 2011 is good for bending.

Bending, shaping and forming in general may be done with conventional tooling. Following cold working the part is usually age hardened to develop better strength properties.
http://www.suppliersonline.com/propertypages/2011.asp#Spec

Offline Cat Whisperer

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Pulaski Coehorn Works
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2011, 04:47:07 PM »
Bending something that big is going to be 'fun' to get it right the first time.

You might want to consider fabricating from several parts - as the end product might well look better.
Tim K                 www.GBOCANNONS.COM
Cat Whisperer
Chief of Smoke, Pulaski Coehorn Works & Winery
U.S.Army Retired
N 37.05224  W 80.78133 (front door +/- 15 feet)

Offline Soot

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2011, 05:00:35 PM »
I would use 6061 and make it in several pieces.
It would look good, and that's all I have to tool to do.

Offline rampa room artillery

• A Real Regular