Author Topic: H&R CF RIFLE Caliber: 223 REM  (Read 757 times)

Offline lockmaster684

• Trade Count: (0)
H&R CF RIFLE Caliber: 223 REM
« on: April 23, 2011, 06:57:31 AM »
  Just wanted to know if any has a solution to fix a "Fail to Fire" problem with this rife. Maybe it's something I'm doing to it. I farm for a living, bought the gun to control ground hogs. This is the second one. The first one had the same problem, sometimes it would fire, sometimes it won't. I tried all different kinds of ammo, same thing. If anyone can help me out I would appreciate it. Thanks LUKE

Offline quickdtoo

• Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (149)
Re: H&R CF RIFLE Caliber: 223 REM
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2011, 07:00:06 AM »
Welcome! First of all, read the Handi Basics 101 sticky, improper trigger control is the most likely suspect, the transfer bar requires a full pull to the rear to allow it to fire.

Tim
"Always do right, this will gratify some and astonish the rest" -  Mark Twain

Offline lockmaster684

• Trade Count: (0)
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2011, 07:10:46 AM »
   Thanks Tim for the welcome.  I was taught to squeeze the round off, but I have tried giving it my all to get it to fire. The dent in the primer does not look deep enough. After the second try on the same shell, it looks like it should be more than deep enough. Sometime on the second try it will fire, sometimes it takes 3 or 4 , or maybe not set it off at all.  LUKE

Offline quickdtoo

• Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (149)
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2011, 07:45:13 AM »
There are a few links in the FAQs on fixes for FTFs and misfires that you can do yourself, but the best option is to send it to H&R for repair if it's a factory fitted barrel, follow the directions on the repair page on H&R's website, when you call them you can ask for a return shipping label to cover shipping costs, it could be a bad transfer bar or just timed improperly, they have an improved transfer bar available now.

Tim